Diversity Visa (DV) Program – 2014



Registrations from eligible candidates for the Diversity Visa (DV) Program – 2014 will be open from Tuesday, October 2, 2012 at 12:00 noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4), to Saturday, November 3, 2012 at 12:00 noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) (GMT-4).

Specific instructions for the 2014 DV lottery have not yet been made available. I will post the instructions here as soon as they are published by the government.

USA Green Card Lottery - 2014
For those of you who do not know about the USA Diversity Visa Program, and for the others who already are aware about it but would like to brush up their knowledge, below is some information on the program.

  • The Diversity Visa Program is more commonly known as the Green Card Lottery.
  • The DV program issues 50,000 immigrant visas each fiscal year.
  • These visas are given to applicants chosen randomly from the lottery program.
  • Only persons from those countries from where there have been not more than 50,000 immigrants to the US during the past 5 years can participate.
  • Visas are distributed over 6 geographical regions.
  • Each country within a region is eligible for only 7% of the available visas.
  • Applicants should have a high school education or its equivalent, or show 2 years of work experience in a job requiring training or work experience worth 2 years, withing the last 5 years.
  • The applications must be submitted online – electronically.
  • The applications must be submitted on the government website within the registration period (see above).
  • There is no fee associated with this application.
  • Photos, meeting the specified requirements, need to be uploaded along with the application.
  • The principal applicant has to include information and photos of all family members (spouse and children below the age of 21) in the application, irrespective of whether they are going to immigrate with the applicant or not.
  • The applicant’s family members who are already green card holders need not have their name included in the application.
  • One applicant can send in only one application. If there are multiple applications by the same person, the entries will be disqualified.
  • Both spouses can file individual applications if both meet the eligibility requirements.

Look out to this space for more information on the USA Green Card Lottery 2014.

8 thoughts on “Diversity Visa (DV) Program – 2014

  1. I want to go to USA because I wanna study college at there, I just finished high school and I hope I can study college at USA because I think when graduated bacholor I have much knowledge and I can find a good job. When I have money I will provide some of my money to property and help them because I want to see other people that is poor person can go to school like me.

    Like

  2. Pls let me know when the specific instuctions have been made.and I also want to confide in you,do I really need an agency to perfect this 4 me or should I do this alone? And also are Nigerians eligible to take part in this?.The last one I did,did not come out well 4 me.

    Like

  3. Which date of the application duration do you think one has the highest chances of winning the lottery when randomly selected?

    Like

    • Pascal, I’m not sure there is a higher chance for applications submitted during particular times. As long as you have submitted a correct entry, I guess each entry has an equal chance of getting drawn.

      Like

Have your thoughts heard

